Afghanistan is a landlocked and mountainous country in the heart of Asia, bordered by Pakistan to the south and east, Iran to the west, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan to the north.
Kabul Loading photos…
Kabul has been the capital of Afghanistan since about 1776. The city has been badly damaged during the various 1979–2001 wars, particularly its western parts.
Herat Loading photos…
Herat is a big, relatively wealthy city in western Afghanistan. Herat is the second largest city in Afghanistan, located in the north western part of Afghanistan.
Bamiyan Loading photos…
Bamiyan is the main town in Bamiyan Province. Bamiyan is one of the main tourist attractions in Afghanistan, largely due to the giant destroyed Buddha statues.
East Afghanistan
This section covers the Eastern portion of Afghanistan. This region is inhabited by the nationalist Pashtuns, who have cultural links with Pakistan, and is influenced by Khyber Pakhtunkhwa; a historic name for this area is Afghania Province.
Northwest Afghanistan
This section covers the northwestern portion of Afghanistan. The Northern Alliance held out here when Taliban controlled the rest of Afghanistan.
Northeast Afghanistan
This section covers the Northeastern portion of Afghanistan. The historic region of Bactria spanned territory that included parts of northern Afghanistan — Kunduz was an important city — plus areas that are now in Uzbekistan or Tajikistan.
West Afghanistan
This section covers the Western portion of Afghanistan. This region is inhabitanted by the Farsiwans and the Turkmens and has …
South Afghanistan
This section covers the Southern portion of Afghanistan. It covers Farah, Helmand, Kandahar, Nimruz, Uruzgan and Zabul Provinces.
The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes. - Marcel Proust
Powered by Mapcarta. About Around.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.