Beijing is the capital of the most populous country in the world, China, and its second largest city after Shanghai. It was the seat of the Ming and Qing dynasty emperors until the formation of a republic in 1911.
Loading photos…
Loading photos…

Popular in Beijing

Chaoyang District is in Beijing. Chaoyang is a massive district, roughly covering the urban area to the north and east of central Beijing, beginning at the Second Ring Road, and stretching beyond the Fifth Ring Road.

Dongcheng District is in Beijing. Dongcheng District is one of the four central districts of Beijing.

Xicheng District is in Beijing. Xicheng means West City. It is the political centre of Beijing.

In Beijing

Chongwen District is in Beijing. Chongwen is the smallest district in Beijing with an area of 16.5 km2.

Haidian is a large district in the north-west of Beijing. Haidian has been a major beneficiary of the recent subway expansions: lines 4, 10, and 13 make it easier to reach Haidian's busier areas by public transport.

Xuanwu is in Beijing covering the south western part of the central city area until just beyond ring two to the west and until ring two to the south.

Tongzhou is in Beijing. A few years ago, Tongzhou consisted of the rather large old village of Tongzhou surrounded by a more modern area and then a large rural area with lots of small villages.

Beijing Capital International Airport is the primary airport of the Chinese capital city of Beijing.

Rural Beijing is in Beijing and consists of the administrative districts Yanqing County, Huairou District, Miyun County and Pinggu District.

Shijingshan District is in the west part of Beijing. Subway line 1 extends west into Shijingshan.

Northern Suburbs is in Beijing and consists of the administrative districts Changping District and Shunyi District.

Fengtai is a district in the south-west of Beijing. If you're arriving in Beijing at Beijing West Railway Station, you'll find yourself in Fengtai.

Western and Southern Suburbs is in Beijing and consists of the administrative districts Mentougou District, Fangshan District and Daxing District.

Baiyu is a village in Beijing with 100-200 traditional court yards, which are in the process of being renovated in a nice and authentic way.

Beijing Map

Explore the map of Beijing on our sister site Mapcarta, your travel map.
Powered by Mapcarta. About Around Guides.Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.