Eastern Germany 

Eastern Germany includes most of the states that used to belong to the former country of East Germany. The highlight is the metropolitan capital of Germany, Berlin.
Loading photos…
Loading photos…

Popular in Eastern Germany

Berlin is the capital city of Germany and one of the 16 states of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Dresden is the capital of the German federal-state of Saxony. It's often called Elbflorenz, or "Florence on the Elbe", reflecting its riverine location and its role as a centre for arts and beautiful architecture - much like Florence in Italy.

Leipzig is the second largest city in the German federal state of Saxony, with a population of approximately 521,000.

In Eastern Germany

Saxony is federal state in the east of Germany. Outside of Berlin it contains the two largest and important cities in eastern Germany, Leipzig and Dresden.

Saxony-Anhalt is a state of Germany. Located in the central part of Germany it is one of the states that used to belong to the former country of East Germany.

Brandenburg, is both a historical region and a modern federal-state in Germany. Brandenburg was historically composed of a larger amount of territory now located across the Oder River in western Poland.

Eastern Germany Map

Explore the map of Eastern Germany on our sister site Mapcarta, your travel map.

Eastern Germany Hotels

Search for hotels in Berlin, Dresden, Leipzig, Grosshennersdorf, Vienenburg and other destinations.