Loading French Guiana…

French Guiana

French Guiana is a French department in the Amazonia region of South America, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, between Brazil and Suriname. It is governed as an overseas province of France with same rights and privileges granted to all other French departments and benefits financially from the arrangement.

Cayenne is the largest city in and capital of French Guiana. Cayenne is located on the Atlantic coast, on marshland surrounded by hills.

Kourou is a town in French Guiana. Together with the Îles de salut outside the coast it used to be part of a penal colony for the worst criminals in France, but in 1946 the prisons were closed.

Saint-Laurent-du-Maroni is a city in French Guiana. Buses from Cayenne and Kourou take you to Iracoubo, from where there are buses to Saint-Laurent.

Saint-Georges is in French Guiana. Located at the Oyapock, the border river between French Guiana and Brazil, if you travel overland between these countries you'll probably traverse this town.

Do you like French Guiana? Please link to and share this page.

The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes. - Marcel Proust
About Around. Powered by Mapcarta.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.