Loading Germany…


The largest country in Central Europe and most populous EU state is Germany, officially the Federal Republic of Germany. It's bordered to the north by Denmark, to the east by Poland and the Czech Republic, to the south by Austria and Switzerland, and to the west by France, Luxembourg, Belgium and the Netherlands.

Berlin is the capital city of Germany and one of the 16 states of the Federal Republic of Germany.

North Rhine-Westphalia is the most populous state in Germany, with 17.5 million inhabitants, located in the west of the country.

Munich is the capital city of the German federal state of Bavaria.

Hesse is one of the states of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Frankfurt is the largest city in the German state of Hesse, and is considered the business and financial centre of Germany.

Saxony is federal state in the east of Germany. It contains the two largest and most important cities in eastern Germany other than Berlin: Leipzig and Dresden.

The Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg is Germany's second-largest city and, at the same time, one of Germany's 16 federal states or Bundesländer.

Saxony-Anhalt is a state of Germany. Located in the central part of Germany it is one of the states that used to belong to the former country of East Germany.

Dresden is the capital of the German federal-state of Saxony. It's often called Elbflorenz, or "Florence on the …

Rhineland-Palatinate is a state of Germany. The largest wine producing area in Germany, it is home to 6 of the 9 wine-producing districts in Germany and is full of museums, exhibitions and castles.

Stuttgart is the capital of the Bundesland of Baden-Württemberg in Germany.

Schleswig-Holstein is the northernmost state of Germany. It borders Denmark and has coasts on both the North and Baltic Seas.

Cologne is situated on the river Rhein in North Rhine-Westphalia and is the fourth largest city in Germany with around one million residents.

Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania is a Land in Germany, located in the northeastern corner of the country between Brandenburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Lower Saxony and the Baltic Sea, and the neighboring country of Poland.

Bavaria is the largest federal state of Germany, situated in the south-east of the country.

Brandenburg, is both a historical region and a modern federal-state in Germany.

Baden-Württemberg is a federal state in Germany. Its world famous Black Forest and the celebrated, romantic city of Heidelberg are top tourist destinations within Germany and Central Europe, but there is much more to see.

Thuringia is one of the least known German states amongst foreign travellers but enjoys a good reputation with local holidaymakers.

Lower Saxony is a federal state in northwestern Germany. It is the second largest state by area and fourth largest by population among the country's sixteen states.

The Eifel is a region that lies in two German states: Rhineland-Palatinate and North Rhine-Westphalia.

Also in Europe

Do you like Germany? Please link to and share this page.

Two roads diverged in a wood and I – I took the one less traveled by. - Robert Frost
About Around. Powered by Mapcarta.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.