Java is an island in Indonesia. The much smaller but still sizable island of Madura, off the coast of and covered as part of the region of East Java, is also included in this article.
Jakarta is the capital and largest city of Indonesia, located on the northwest of the island of Java.
West Java is the western third of the island of Java, Indonesia.
Bandung is the capital city of West Java Province, and the third largest city in Indonesia after Jakarta and Surabaya.
Central Java province covers the central third of the island of Java, Indonesia.
Yogyakarta— despite the official spelling, the name is usually pronounced and not uncommonly written Jogjakarta or just Jogja — is a major tourist destination in Indonesia.
East Java covers the eastern third of the island of Java, Indonesia, as well as the island of Madura and several small offshore islands.
Surabaya is the capital of East Java and the 2nd largest city in Indonesia.
Solo the short name for Surakarta, is a major city in Central Java, Indonesia.
Borobudur is a Buddhist stupa and temple complex in Central Java, Indonesia dating from the 8th century, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Bogor is a city in West Java, Indonesia. Some 60 km south of Jakarta, Bogor is the "bo" of the massive Jabotabek conurbation, with 3,000,000 people or so of its own.
Also in Indonesia
A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles. - Tim Cahill
Powered by Mapcarta. About Around Guides.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.