Laos, officially known as the Lao People's Democratic Republic, is one of the poorest nations in Southeast Asia. A mountainous and landlocked country, Laos shares borders with Vietnam to the east, Cambodia to the south, Thailand to the west, and Myanmar and China to the north.
Vientiane is the capital of Laos. Compared to the hectic, bustling capitals in other Southeast Asian countries, Vientiane's relaxing atmosphere makes it feel like the small town it is.
Central Laos shares borders with Thailand and Vietnam, as well as with Northern and Southern Laos.
Luang Prabang, also Luang Phabang, Luang Phrabang and Louang Phrabang is the former capital of Laos and a UNESCO World Heritage city.
Northern Laos is a mountainous region of Laos. It shares borders with Thailand, Myanmar, China and Vietnam.
Vang Vieng is a riverside town in Central Laos. Once little more than a bus stop on the long haul …
The southern region of Laos
Pakse is a city in the Champasak province of Southern Laos.
Savannakhet and more officially mentioned as "Kaysone Phomvihane", is the capital of Savannakhet Province in Southern Laos.
Phonsavan is the capital of Xieng Khouang Province in Central Laos.
Houay Xai is the capital of the Laos province of Bokeo.
Muang Xay is the capital of the multi-ethnic province of Oudomxay Province, in the Nam Ko River Basin and surrounded by scenic mountains.
The Plain of Jars is in Central Laos. Information about staying in the Plain of Jars can be found on the page about Phonsavan.
Wherever you go, go with all your heart. - Confucius
Powered by Mapcarta. About Around Guides.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.