Loading Mauritania…


Mauritania is the least developed and poorest country in northwest Africa. Geographically part of the Maghreb, Mauritania borders Algeria, Senegal and Mali, along with the disputed territory of Western Sahara.

Nouadhibou is the second largest city in Mauritania. It's a major fishing centre and large industrial port.

Coastal Mauritania is a region of Mauritania. Coastal Mauritania extends the length of the approximately 754-kilometer-long Atlantic coastline.

Choum is a tiny railway halt in the Adrar Region of Northern Mauritania 5 km from the straight-line demarcated border with the Western Sahara that runs due west-east at this point before turning south-north 12 km to the east.

Saharan Mauritania is a region of Mauritania. This region makes up the northern two-thirds of the country.

Nouakchott is the largest city in and capital of Mauritania. Nouakchott International Airport is the base for Mauritania Airlines International which flies to Bamako, Dakar, Abidjan and Nouadhibou.

Sahelian Mauritania is a region of Mauritania. This semi-arid region extends south of Saharan Mauritania to of the Senegal River Valley on the borders with Senegal and Mali.

Do you like Mauritania? Please link to and share this page.

A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving. - Lǎozǐ
About Around. Powered by Mapcarta.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.