Nepal is a landlocked country in Southern Asia, between the Tibet autonomous region of China and India. It contains eight of the world's 10 highest peaks, including Mount Everest - the world's tallest - on the border with Tibet, and Lumbini, the birthplace of Gautama Buddha, the founder of Buddhism.

Popular in Nepal

Kathmandu is the largest city and capital of Nepal and the namesake of the Kathmandu Valley.

Pokhara is the third largest city in Nepal with about one million people in 2013.

Boudhanath is located 7 km East/Northeast of Kathmandu & home to one of the largest Buddhist stupas in the world, built during the 5th century AD.

Nepal Photos

Loading photos…

In Nepal

The Kathmandu Valley is a region of 600km² in the Bagmati zone in central Nepal.

The Himalayas is the northernmost region of Nepal. It includes eight of the world's ten highest peaks, including the world's tallest - Mount Everest.

The Middle Hills are a hill range in Nepal, split between the Himalayas and the Tarai Mountain Range.

The Western Tarai consists of the western part of the Tarai Mountain Range in Nepal.

Ramechhap District is in Nepal. Ramechhap district lies immediately east of Kathmandu, stretching from the Sun Koshi to the base of the Everest range.

The Eastern Tarai consists of the eastern part of the Tarai Mountain Range in Nepal.

Dhulikhel is a town of about 10,000 people on the eastern fringe of the Kathmandu Valley in Nepal.

Bardiya National Park is in the Terai region of Nepal. The park has a surface of 968 square kilometers.

Gorkha district lies in western region of Nepal. It become part of Nepal when King Prithvi Narayan Shah of Gorkha unified the country 250 years ago.

For those seeking the ultimate panoramic Himalayan view, Daman is the place to visit.

Valmiki Ashram is a small temple and ashram or hermitage just inside Chitwan National Park in Nepal.

Mid Western Nepal is a region in Nepal. English may take you fairly far, but a little Nepali goes further.

Nepal Map

Explore the map of Nepal on Mapcarta.

Escape to a Random Place

Powered by Mapcarta. About Around Guides.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.