Loading Northwestern Russia…

Northwestern Russia

Northwestern Russia is a region of Russia stretching from the major population center of Leningrad Oblast on the Baltic Sea to vast, remote, and empty lands above the Arctic Circle.

Saint Petersburg, known as Petrograd in 1914-1924 and Leningrad in 1924-1991, is the second largest city of Russia, with 5 million inhabitants, and the former capital of the Russian Empire.

Novgorod Oblast is a region in Northwestern Russia, which borders Pskov Oblast to the west, Leningrad Oblast to the north, Vologda Oblast to the northeast, and Tver Oblast to the south.

Staraya Russa is a small, historic town in the centre of Novgorod Oblast, long famous domestically for its …

Arkhangelsk Oblast is a region in Northwestern Russia, which borders Karelia to the west, the White Sea to the north, Nenetsia to the northeast, Komi Republic to the east, Kirov Oblast to the southeast, and Vologda Oblast to the south.

Peterhof or Petergof, known as Petrodvorets from 1944 to 1992, is a municipal town within Petrodvortsovy District of the federal city of Saint Petersburg, on the southern shore of the Gulf of Finland.

Murmansk Oblast is the northernmost region of Northwestern Russia, on the Kola Peninsula, which borders Finland's Lapland to the …

Murmansk is a city in the extreme northwest of Russia and the world's largest city north of the Arctic Circle.

Pskov Oblast is in Northwestern Russia, which borders Latvia to the west, Estonia to the northwest, Leningrad Oblast to the north, Novgorod Oblast to the …

Arkhangelsk is a regional center in Northwestern Russia, located on both banks of Northern Dvina river near its mouth on the White Sea, about 1100 km to the north of Moscow and about 1500 km northeast of Saint Petersburg.

Vologda Oblast is a region in Northwestern Russia, which borders Tver Oblast and Novgorod Oblast to the southwest, Leningrad Oblast to the west, Karelia to the …

Staraya Ladoga, Finnish: Vanha Laatokka), or the Aldeigjuborg of Norse sagas, is a village in Leningrad Oblast, located on the mighty Volkhov River eight km north of the town of Volkhov.

Leningrad Oblast is a region of Northwestern Russia named for the old name of its principal city, Leningrad, now known as Saint Petersburg.

Karelia is a region in Northwestern Russia, which borders Finland to the west, Murmansk Oblast to the north, the White Sea to the northeast, Arkhangelsk Oblast to the east, Vologda Oblast to the southeast, and Leningrad Oblast to the south.

Novgorod is one of the oldest cities in Russia. It was first mentioned in the manuscripts as early as 859.

Petrozavodsk is the capital city of Karelia with a population just above 263,000.

Do you like Northwestern Russia? Please link to and share this page.

A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving. - Lǎozǐ
About Around. Powered by Mapcarta.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.