Okinawa is one of the 47 prefectures of Japan, an island chain to the southwest of the mainland. The name Okinawa means "rope in the open sea", a fairly apt description of this long stretch of islands between mainland Japan and Taiwan.
Ishigaki is second-largest but most populated of the Yaeyama Islands of Okinawa, Japan.
Okinawa Island is the main and largest island of the Okinawa Prefecture in Japan.
Yonaguni in the Yaeyama Islands is the westernmost point of Japan.
The Daitō Islands are a tiny archipelago 360 km east of Okinawa Island, Japan.
Miyako is the largest of the Miyako Islands. Most of the Miyako's 50,000 or so residents live in Hirara, the main business and entertainment district on the island.
Okinawa Islands is in Okinawa. Most flights from the mainland Japan and all international flights land in Naha on the Okinawa island.
Iriomote is the largest of the Yaeyama Islands of Okinawa, Japan.
Naha is the capital of the Okinawa Prefecture in Japan and is the main city on Okinawa Island, with a population of around 700,000 - more than half the total population of Okinawa.
Minamidaitō is an island village in Okinawa, located about 400km east of the Okinawan mainland.
The Yaeyama Islands are the westernmost part of Okinawa, Japan.
Also in Japan
I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel's sake. The great affair is to move. - Robert Louis Stevenson
Powered by Mapcarta. About Around Guides.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.