France's largest region in terms of size and second largest in population, the Rhône-Alpes region is a very attractive place for travelers. The Rhône-Alpes region has a huge diversity of landscapes due to its climactic and topographic variation.

Popular in Rhône-Alpes

Lyon, also written Lyons in English, is the third largest city in France and centre of the second largest metropolitan area in the country.

Vercors is a massif of mountains and plateaus east of the Rhône Valley, between the valleys of the rivers Drôme and Isère, in the Rhône alpes region of France.

Grenoble is a city of around 158,000 inhabitants located in the French Alps. The climate is quite cold in winter, with days of snow almost every year.

Rhône-Alpes Photos

Loading photos…

In Rhône-Alpes

Rhône is a department in south-eastern France. It is one of the departments making up the region of the Rhone-Alpes.

La Haute-Savoie consists of the small nook of France bordering Switzerland across Lake Leman to the North, and Italy to the East.

Savoie is in the Rhône-Alpes of France. Chambéry Airport offers a multi-lingual travel service for tourists.

Isère is a department in the Rhône-Alpes region of France. Isère is one of the original 83 departments created during the French Revolution.

Loire is in Rhône-Alpes.

The Ardèche is a department in south-central France named after the Ardèche River.

Megeve is a city in Rhone-Alpes. Megève is ideally located as it is only an hour’s drive from Geneva airport.

Alpe d'Huez is a city the in French Alps. Besides being a winter ski resort, Alpe d'Huez is a popular resort for cycling fans as in many years one of the most important stages of the Tour de France ends at the ski station.

Divonne-les-Bains is a town in Rhône-Alpes, located just outside of Geneva. It serves as both a bedroom community for Geneva, as well as a tourist destination owing to its thermal baths, golf course and casino.

At 4810 m, Mont Blanc is the highest summit of Western Europe situated between the French and the Italian Alps, near the town of Chamonix and Courmayeur.

Ain is a department named after the Ain River on the eastern edge of France. Being part of the region Rhône-Alpes and bordered by the rivers Saône and Rhône, the department of Ain enjoys a privileged situation.

Pérouges is in Rhône-Alpes. Pérouges is a preserved medieval village, built on a hill and surrounded by ramparts.

Rhône-Alpes Map

Explore the map of Rhône-Alpes on Mapcarta.

Escape to a Random Place

Powered by Mapcarta. About Around Guides.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.