Rio San Juan Region

The Rio San Juan Region is a region in Nicaragua which borders in the south to Plains of the North, Costa Rica This is largely a rural area, so the term "cities" is something of a stretch. Juigalpa, Boaco and to a lesser degree San Carlos are the only places with the size and services you would commonly associate with a city.
Popular destinations: San Carlos, Juigalpa and El Castillo

Popular Destinations

San Carlos is a city in Rio San Juan department of Nicaragua. San Carlos itself might not be the most interesting …

Juigalpa is the capital of the department of Chontales in Nicaragua. 30 de Mayo, Asunción, Carlos Nuñez, Cementerio …

El Castillo is a town in Rio San Juan department of Nicaragua.


San Juan del Norte is a small town and municipality in Rio San Juan department of Nicaragua.

Solentiname Islands is in Nicaragua on the southeastern corner of Lago Nicaragua.

Boaco is a mountain town in Nicaragua, some 88 km east of Managua. Sometimes called the "Two-Storey City", you'll be challenged to find flat terrains in the city.

San Miguelito is in Rio San Juan Region of Nicaragua. San Miguelito is the other municipio in the Rio San Juan departamento with a coastline of lake Nicaragua.
Choose the road less travelled. And remember that the best places to visit are not in the guide.
My Destination
Travel Dates

Popular Destinations in Nicaragua

Escape to a Random Place


Thanks for Sharing

A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.
, ,
About Around Guides. Site powered by Mapcarta. Based on the page Rio San Juan Region. Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.
Photos provided by Flickr under the copyright of their owners. This product uses the Flickr API but is not endorsed or certified by Flickr. Please contact us if you'd prefer to remove your Flickr photos from Around Guides.