Scandinavia or the Nordic countries is a European region north of the Baltic Sea. At almost 1.2 million square kilometres it is one of the largest regions in Europe, but home to only around 24 million people, accounting for a mere 4% of the population of Europe.
Copenhagen is the capital city of Denmark and forms the moderate conurbation that one million Danes call home.
The Faroe or Faeroe Islands are 18 islands in the middle of the North Atlantic Ocean, northwest of Scotland and halfway between Iceland and Norway.
Oslo is the capital and largest city of Norway, and the third largest city of Scandinavia.
Stockholm is the capital and largest city of Sweden, with nearly 2 million inhabitants in its metropolitan area.
Helsinki or Helsingfors is the capital of Finland. Founded in 1550, the "Daughter of the Baltic" has been the Finnish capital since 1812, when it was rebuilt by the tsars of Russia along the lines of a miniature St.
Finland is in Northern Europe and has borders with Russia to the east, Norway to the north, and Sweden to the west.
Norway is the westernmost, northernmost — and surprisingly also the easternmost — of the three Scandinavian countries.
Denmark is a country in Scandinavia. The main part of it is Jutland, a peninsula north of Germany, but also with a number of islands, including the two major ones, Zealand and Funen in the Baltic Sea between Jutland and Sweden.
Sweden is the largest of the Nordic countries, with a population of about 9.5 million.
Turku is the oldest city and former capital of Finland.
Iceland, is a mountainous island nation in the north Atlantic Ocean, located between Europe and North America.
Every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home. - Matsuo Basho
Powered by Mapcarta. About Around Guides.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.