Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka, formerly known as Ceylon, is in Southern Asia. It is an island country in the Indian Ocean, south of India. Sri Lanka is officially divided into 9 administrative provinces: Located in the Indian Ocean just south of India, Sri Lanka is an island that is a popular holiday destination.
Popular destinations: Colombo, Kandy and Galle

Sri Lanka Hotels

Search for hotels in Colombo, in Kandy, in Galle, in Anuradhapura and in Unawatuna.

Popular Destinations

Western Sri Lanka is a province in Sri Lanka.
Popular destinations: Colombo, Negombo and Beruwela

Southern Sri Lanka is a province in Sri Lanka.
Popular destinations: Galle, Unawatuna and Yala National Park

Central Sri Lanka is a province within Sri Lanka. The Central Highlands of Sri Lanka comprises the …
Popular destinations: Kandy, Sigiriya and Nuwara Eliya

Eastern Sri Lanka is a province in Sri Lanka.
Popular destinations: Sammanthurai, Batticaloa and Arugam Bay


North Central is a province in Sri Lanka.
Popular destinations: Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa

Uva is a province in Sri Lanka. The train journey from Colombo takes about 9 hours, and runs along the Mahaweli River Valley among green mountains, offering splendid wiews on the highlands, tea crops and countless waterfalls.
Popular destinations: Ella, Haputale and Badulla

North Western Sri Lanka is a province in Sri Lanka. The districts of Kurunegala and Puttalam formulate Wayamba.
Popular destinations: Kurunegala, Kalpitiya and Puttalam

The Northern Province is in Sri Lanka. The Northern Province is Sri Lanka's Tamil country and, for several decades, was mostly under the control of the Tamil Tigers.
Choose the road less travelled. And remember that the best places to visit are not in the guide.
My Destination
Travel Dates

Popular Destinations in South Asia

Escape to a Random Place


Thanks for Sharing

A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles.
, ,
About Around Guides. Site powered by Mapcarta. Based on the page Sri Lanka. Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.
Photos provided by Flickr under the copyright of their owners. This product uses the Flickr API but is not endorsed or certified by Flickr. Please contact us if you'd prefer to remove your Flickr photos from Around Guides.