Stockholm is the capital and largest city of Sweden, with nearly 2 million inhabitants in its metropolitan area. The inner city is made up of 14 islands across Lake Mälaren and three streams into the brackish Baltic Sea, with the Stockholm archipelago with some 24,000 islands, islets and skerries.

Popular in Stockholm

Norrmalm [nɔrˈmalm], also known as City, is the central borough of Stockholm, bordering to Östermalm to the east at Birger Jarlsgatan, the Old Town to the south, Kungsholmen to the south-west, and Vasastan north-west of Tegnérgatan.

Södermalm [sødərˈmalm] or Söder is an island-borough in southern Stockholm, known for its rugged terrain, and its diverse shopping and entertainment opportunities.

Östermalm [østərˈmalm] is an affluent borough in north-eastern Stockholm, bordering Norrmalm and Vasastan at Birger Jarlsgatan, one of Stockholm's longest streets.

Stockholm Photos

Loading photos…

In Stockholm

Gamla Stan [gamlaˈstɑːn], the Old Town, also known as Staden mellan broarna is the Old Town in Stockholm, containing genuine cultural heritage, as well as tourist traps.

Söderort [ˈsøːdərˈuʈ] or Söder om Söder is the part of Stockholm municipality that lies south of Södermalm, on the Södertörn peninsula.

Vasastan is a neighbourhood in north-central Stockholm, making up the northern part of the Norrmalm borough.

Djurgården [ˈjʉːrˈgoːɖən], [ˈjʉːgɔɳ], more properly Södra Djurgården, is a park island in the southern Östermalm borough in Stockholm.

Lidingö [ˈliːdɪŋˈø:] is a suburban island east of Stockholm in Sweden, at the innermost part of the Stockholm archipelago.

Kungsholmen is an island-borough in western Stockholm, best known for the City Hall, Stockholms stadshus.

Västerort [ˈvɛstərˈuʈ] is the western part of Stockholm municipality, extending far from the inner city, nearly encircling the the autonomous towns Solna and Sundbyberg.

The northern suburbs of Stockholm, Norrort [ˈnɔrˈuʈ], consist of several municipalities, separate from Stockholm: Danderyd, Täby, Vallentuna, Sollentuna, Upplands-Väsby, Upplands-Bro, and Järfälla.

Nacka [ˈnaˈka] is a peninsular town just south-east of Stockholm on northern Södertörn, with 90,000 inhabitants.

Solna [ˈsoːlˈna] and Sundbyberg [sɵndbyˈbærj] are two autonomous cities just north of the Vasastan and Östermalm districts of inner Stockholm, bordering Västerort to the west, and Stockholm's northern suburbs to the north.

Skeppsholmen and Kastellholmen are two islands in Stockholm, accessible on foot from Norrmalm, with a great view of the inner Stockholm Harbour.

Stockholm Map

Explore the map of Stockholm on Mapcarta.

Escape to a Nearby Place

Powered by Mapcarta. About Around Guides.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.