Sumatra is a region of Indonesia and the 6th largest island in the world. Wild and rugged, it has a great natural wealth. Sumatra is divided into ten provinces.

Popular in Sumatra

Medan, the capital of North Sumatra, is on the northern part of Sumatra. Medan is the third largest city in Indonesia after Jakarta and Surabaya.

Lake Toba, is the largest volcanic lake in the world and is in Sumatra, Indonesia.

Bukittinggi is a city in West Sumatra. Bukittinggi is one of the larger cities in West Sumatra, Indonesia, with a population of over 91,000 people and an area of 25.24 km².

Sumatra Photos

Loading photos…

In Sumatra

The Riau Islands are an archipelago in Indonesia, located east of Sumatra and south of Singapore.

North Sumatra is the northern province of Indonesia's Sumatra Island. North Sumatera has more than 13 major towns, including: Tourist Information:you can get a free information from a local tourism organization called HPPI, located in the heart of travelers area.

West Sumatra is in Sumatra, Indonesia. West Sumatra bounded in the north by the province of North Sumatra, in the west by the Indian ocean, in the south by the provinces of Bengkulu and Jambi, and in the east by Riau province.

Aceh is a province and special territory of Indonesia, located in the northern part of the island of Sumatra.

Riau is a province in Sumatra. It is located on the east coast of the island and is rich in oil.

Bangka-Belitung, cutely abbreviated Babel, is a province in Indonesia consisting of the islands of Bangka and Belitung, just off the south-eastern coast of Sumatra.

For the city in Northern Thailand, see Lampang. Lampung is a province in Sumatra, Indonesia.

Kerinci Seblat National Park is in Sumatra, Indonesia, spanning no less than four different provinces.

South Sumatra is a province of Sumatra, Indonesia. The city of Palembang is the culinary centre of South Sumatra and is renowned for its pempek, a deep fried fish and sago dumpling that is also known as empek-empek.

Gunung Leuser National Park is a large national park covering 950,000 hectares in northern Sumatra, Indonesia, straddling the border of the provinces of North Sumatra and Aceh.

Jambi is a province in eastern Sumatra, Indonesia.

Bukit Barisan Selatan National Park spans 3 different provinces of Sumatra in Indonesia.

Sumatra Map

Explore the map of Sumatra on Mapcarta.

Escape to a Random Place

Powered by Mapcarta. About Around Guides.
Photos provided by Panoramio under the copyright of their owners.
Loading photos…