Western Netherlands

The Western Netherlands is the region that most foreign visitors to the Netherlands attend. Quite frankly, many of them don't even see any other part of the country at all—this region has everything you'd expect from the country and has the most sights and activities.
Popular destinations: Amsterdam, Rotterdam and Hilversum

Popular Destinations

North Holland is a province in the West of the Netherlands. It is bordered by South Holland on the south, Utrecht on the southeast, Flevoland in the east and Friesland in the northeast.
Popular destinations: Amsterdam, Hilversum and Alkmaar

South Holland is a province in the Netherlands. South Holland consists of the southern half of the historic county of Holland.
Popular destinations: Rotterdam, The Hague and Delft


Utrecht is a central province of the Netherlands. With its 1359 square kilometers it's the smallest province in the country - it is, however, densely populated.
Popular destinations: Utrecht, Amersfoort and Woerden

Flevoland is the Netherlands' youngest province, almost completely formed through land reclamation in the 20th century.
Popular destinations: Lelystad, Almere and Noordoostpolder
Choose the road less travelled. And remember that the best places to visit are not in the guide.
My Destination
Travel Dates

Popular Destinations in Netherlands

Escape to a Random Place


Thanks for Sharing

Every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home.
, ,
About Around Guides. Site powered by Mapcarta. Based on the page Western Netherlands. Text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License.
Photos provided by Flickr under the copyright of their owners. This product uses the Flickr API but is not endorsed or certified by Flickr. Please contact us if you'd prefer to remove your Flickr photos from Around Guides.